The high lama and the highest mountains - Reisverslag uit Taksindu, Nepal van Ruud Swart - WaarBenJij.nu The high lama and the highest mountains - Reisverslag uit Taksindu, Nepal van Ruud Swart - WaarBenJij.nu

The high lama and the highest mountains

Door: Ruud

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ruud

27 September 2016 | Nepal, Taksindu

It was 5 am when I woke up and set foot towards the village because we could take the jeep to nearby our destination. So after 15 minutes in the jeep we got stuck and whilst trying to get it out, we heard a loud hissing sound. I don't have to tell what that meant. Were we still to walk the 8 hours in this heavy rain?
Yes, sir.

So with in mind that we could have gone by car, it took me some time for acceptence. Even after 3 hours, my mind was still occupied with all nonsence that I did not want in my head. After 4 hours the vegetation changed very quickly, which was now like a tarzan jungle. I saw a group of wild monkeys jumping from tree to tree, what an awesome sight that was, until someone threw a piece of wood at them. What a childish action, but well what can you do.

From this moment on the road would only go higher and My body was not ready for only going up! The exhaustion was getting worse in every step I took. I wanted to take a break when I heard that the top was only 15 minutes away from us. Eager to see the view, I ran to the top only to be dissapointed by the whiteness of the clouds. Seeing that we were almost at the monastery, I regained my power and down we went.

I saw this amazing monastery along with hundreds of people, all gathering to hear the prayers of Kyahie dungsey garab rinpoche, an important high lama. When we settled our place to sleep in the dormitory we went to the center to see the lama singing his prayers and eventually room was made for the lamas to pass through giving the blessings. When one of the lamas was in front of me, he stopped and asked: "do you know what i'm doing? Do you speak english?" My fellow volunteer who was next to me answered " giving us your blessing?" Then he said "something like that, I am getting rid of your blockades" and hit us somewhat hard on the heads with his blessed stick. After this occured I felt a bit weird, considering if all this should have any effect and if so, how does it happen? Anyway, after the stick I was also hit in the head with some relic and they gave me a red rope (shinta?) Which would give you longer life. This I found all vey interesting, but asking about all this would end in vain, because no clear answer could be given. I also heard that this was a very special event, I don't know why but I was there, which is nice.

After some raksi, I fell asleep. Only to wake up at three which is apparently the time to start a nice subject along with a good life, until they all got up at 5:30 and go home. And if I weren't tired from the hike already this would have done it. I too was walking back to Sallery at 6 am with a hangover and a tired body like everyone else. This morning had a clear sky and we have taken a glance at the highest mountains in the world, even a piece of the mount everest, but the god of mountains would stay in the clouds and he could not be seen whole.

On the way back we found a motherless kitten as big as my fist, and as my host offered to take care of this ratcatcher we carried her for 6 hours. A nice shit in the vest and red scratched arms told me that this cat was attached to me. But if I would put her down she would just follow me and wait between my legs to be picked up again. As annoying this trip was, she is very cute and loves to sit on my lap,for I am mummy now. The rest of the family is also mummy since she can't see the difference. What a nice adventure that was, I feel like I'm back from a weekend on a music festival, so I will sleep well in my nice and quiet home just outside Sallery.

  • 27 September 2016 - 08:48

    Lucette Swart:

    Jeetje Ruud wat een ontzetten avontuur! Een hele belevenis
    Wat mooi die blessing van die lama.
    Vind t zo leuk dit allemaal te lezen. Fijn dat je de himalaya ook ecen kon zien met een heldere lucht!

    En dat katje

  • 27 September 2016 - 22:12

    Eric:

    I like to read about your trips, adventures and feelings.
    This trip seams to be a special one, not planned, stuck car, clouds and with an unusual occasion by a headache giving lama blessing.

    Coincidence? I don't think so. Check with a wide view which blockade(s) you got rid of, for sure you find something.
    Enjoy the last weeks and keep on sharing the coming trips and adventures with us.
    Thanks Ruud!

  • 29 September 2016 - 19:22

    Mathilde:

    Wat een mooi verhaal en wat heb je weer veel meegemaakt... dit had je nooit kunnen denken maar dat maakt de reis die je maakt heel erg de moeite, ik hoop dat het goed met je gaat....wat gebeurd er met dat poesje, weet je dat?

  • 29 September 2016 - 23:43

    Dierenvriend:

    Die kat wordt opgegeten als ie wat vetter is. Dat doen se daar met die haarballen.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ruud

Hoe kan ik nou ergens een huis bouwen als ik niet eens weet hoe het ergens anders op aarde had kunnen zijn? Ik blijf doorreizen tot ik mijn plek heb gevonden, en beleef avonturen die me voor altijd zullen bijblijven

Actief sinds 17 Aug. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 368
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8335

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Augustus 2016 - 31 December 2016

Impulsief op avontuur in Azië

Landen bezocht: